

To:	Members of the Communities
	Scrutiny Committee

Date: 30 August 2019

Direct Dial: 01824 712554

e-mail: democratic@denbighshire.gov.uk

Dear Councillor

You are invited to attend a meeting of the COMMUNITIES SCRUTINY COMMITTEE to be held at 10.00 am on THURSDAY, 5 SEPTEMBER 2019 in COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, RUTHIN.

PLEASE NOTE THAT THERE IS A BRIEFING FOR ALL COMMITTEE MEMBERS AT 9.15 A.M. IMMEDIATELY PRIOR TO THE MEETING IN CONFERENCE ROOM 1A

Yours sincerely

G. Williams Head of Legal, HR and Democratic Services

AGENDA

PART 1 - THE PRESS AND PUBLIC ARE INVITED TO ATTEND THIS PART OF THE MEETING

1 APOLOGIES

2 **DECLARATION OF INTERESTS** (Pages 5 - 6)

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

3 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act 1972.

4 MINUTES (Pages 7 - 18)

To receive the minutes of the Communities Scrutiny Committee held on 4 July 2019 (copy attached).

10.05am – 10.10am

5 LLANTYSILIO MOUNTAIN FIRE, SUMMER 2018 (Pages 19 - 88)

To consider a report by the Scrutiny Co-ordinator (copy attached) which presents the Committee's draft report for approval following its review of the fire on Llantysilio Mountain during the summer of 2018 and its impact on the area. The report also seeks the Committee to instigate discussions with partner organisations and stakeholders on a way forward with a view to reducing the risk of similar incidents occurring in future.

10.10am - 11.45am

BREAK 11.45am - 12pm

6 SCRUTINY WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 89 - 114)

To consider a report by the Scrutiny Coordinator (copy attached) seeking a review of the committee's forward work programme and updating members on relevant issues.

12pm – 12.20pm

7 FEEDBACK FROM COMMITTEE REPRESENTATIVES

To receive any updates from Committee representatives on various Council Boards and Groups

12.20pm – 12.30pm

MEMBERSHIP

Councillors

Councillor Huw Williams (Chair)

Mabon ap Gwynfor Brian Blakeley Rachel Flynn Tina Jones Merfyn Parry Councillor Graham Timms (Vice-Chair)

Anton Sampson Glenn Swingler Andrew Thomas Cheryl Williams

COPIES TO:

All Councillors for information Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils